Forecast: No Sunshine

Continuing the trend of music from the 70s, I’m really feeling “Ain’t No Sunshine When She’s Gone” right now.

Mandy & Charlie

My elder daughter and granddaughter will leave to return overseas very soon, and I’m going to miss them so much. It’s unlikely that my  husband and I will see them again until they’re back in the States – a year and a half from now. By then, we’ll have another grandchild who’ll be a year old. Yes, my little granddaughter will have a sibling in December.

They came for my younger daughter’s wedding. In a few days, she and her new husband will leave as well.

Dylan & Mel at Ivy Place

It’s going to be lonely around the old homestead, but I guess that means my husband and I have done our jobs as parents. That won’t make me miss them less.

6 thoughts on “Forecast: No Sunshine

  1. Gayle Mills

    Good thing love is not constrained by time or space. It grows to fill the heart’s empty spaces by filling it with pleasant memories. It stretches with familiar sounds that connect us to previous experiences.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    It’s especially hard because you had Mel living in the upstairs apartment. But what wonderful times you had. I will feel the same when Michael and Nathan move out, probably together.

    New horizons! Love the wedding photo, by the way. Those socks!🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Yes, I’ll really miss having Mel at home. She’s easy to be around.

      I loved Dylan’s socks, too. He’s so big I tend to forget he’s won’t be 24 until October. The socks are young. The tailor who made his suit matched the shirt and tie. He may have selected the socks, too.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Susan Kaye

    Technology makes these the best of times to be separated. You and your husband can sing “All by Myself,” together. But wait, that wouldn’t be true now would it? Never mind. I’m just waiting for a chance to use “Brandy” or Mandy.”

    I can’t, but you can.🙂

    Like

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Mandy is my elder daughter’s name, so I claim that song. I’ve always loved it.

      Technology certainly makes it easier, but it can’t replace a hug.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

