Redecorating, redesigning, and requiring answers

I am rejuvenated after my busy summer, and I checked an item off my bucket list yesterday. I finally redesigned the kindle covers of Guardian, SoulFire, and Legacy – the three books in the Guardian Trilogy.
GUARDIAN 5 I may even tackle the print covers soon!

As soon as I can, I plan to submit newly formatted interior files for both kindle and print versions. I loved writing this series, and it deserves better than what I did five years ago when I was just learning to use the technology.

Now, new (free!) cover technology is available online which is simple to use, given my background in yearbook design. Those who have used the Createspace cover templates know that they are quite limited, and I was overjoyed to find a better alternative yesterday. Out with the old; in with the new.

SoulFire 2Legacy 1

Last week, I invited readers to submit questions for my front porch tea party. These questions were submitted by J. Dawn King. Thank you, Mrs. King, for participating in my little question and answer session.

Mr. Darcy, have you given consideration to how Pemberley will feel once Georgiana has flown the nest? Does your heart long to keep her forever? Can you empathize with Mrs. Helm?

While I have great sympathy for the circumstances of Mrs. Helm, it will be many years before I am in similar straits, for Elizabeth and I have wed. Georgiana will likely still be at Pemberley to see her nephew or niece born before she “flies the nest.” Yes, it is with pleasure that I announce my wife’s delicate condition. There will soon be an heir to Pemberley. I would use an emoji here, but the idea is just too undignified.

My heartfelt wish for Georgiana is that she will find a love as great as ours.

20150714_102604

Mrs. Darcy, you give the impression that you longed to flee your nest. Was it because of your mother or were you merely curious as to what is beyond your particular tree?

I must say, Mrs. King, that you have a gift for seeing right to the heart of the matter. I will not speak ill of my mother, but I will say that Mr. Darcy’s offer of marriage was very propitious. To have me return with no prospects to Longbourn after the marriages of my eldest sister and my youngest sister would have been quite trying for my mother’s nerves. As go my mother’s nerves, so goes the entire household.

I love long walks with my husband; consequently, I am greatly enjoying all the trees at Pemberley.

Thank you, Mr. and Mrs. Darcy, for answering the rather intrusive questions left for you by Mrs. King. She is a lovely, curious soul. I will continue with the interview questions for Charles Bingley and Charlotte Collins next week. If any dear readers have further questions, please leave them in the comments. I will be happy to ask any of the Austen characters whatever you wish to know.

11 thoughts on “Redecorating, redesigning, and requiring answers

    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I have to admit that planning and executing a wedding for 500 guests was the most stressful thing I’ve ever experienced. Her move pales in comparison. That may change though. She’ll come back next week and stay with us for a month before she moves to California permanently. Who knows how I’ll handle that?

      Thanks, Joy. You’re such a blessing.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  1. Laura Hile

    “As go my mother’s nerves, so goes the entire household.” Well said, Mrs Darcy. Another of your universal truths, alas.

    Robin, I must say you have put your time in an empty house to good use. How gratifying, to be able to make such sweeping changes to your book covers! Well done.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks, Laura! I really enjoyed doing that yesterday. Finding that free website was a Godsend.

      My nerves are beginning to level out, much to the relief of my husband, I’m sure. He hasn’t called me “Mrs. Bennet” in a while.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          Larry gets by with everything because he’s the only man in the house. At least he was until both of our daughters married.

          Liked by 2 people

          Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    Revamping is a good thing for summer. Bill and I are planning to revamp where we live. (Not that anything will eve come of it, everyone seems to have dibs on us BUT us!) I long for an empty nest. I warn loners that children complicate your life terribly. Oh well, God has his plans and I have mine. He laughs.

    Have a great summer, Robin.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I have all sorts of freedom with my empty nest, but I do miss those days when my girls were children. I have more money now, but I’d rather hear their laughter, go to their ballgames, help them pick out prom dresses, and watch them grow and change.

      I suppose I can now watch my daughters do those things with their own children. My daughters may be married, but I still see them growing and changing. It doesn’t end.

      The main comfort for me is that they’re happy. If I die tomorrow, don’t grieve for me. My daughters are well taken care of by wonderful men who adore them. I can’t ask for more than that.

      Enjoy your revamping, Sue. I’m enjoying mine immensely. We both deserve it.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. tgruy

    Great covers! As for your daughter leaving but first staying with you for a month, be sure to follow my mother’s advice and establish a check out post or some of her favorite things from your house may find a way to hers. At least that’s what my mom alleged. She may have been right…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Actually, their plans are to take only what they truly need – like fifty pairs of shoes each. Their apartment will be a small, one-bedroom in a gated community. It’s very expensive to live in California. At any rate, she can take anything of mine she wants. There are very few things that I’m really attached to. The older I get, the less I value things and the more I value people.

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Cover For My Next Kindle Story - Blue Feather Quill

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

