Moi, the Indie Author

Photo: Simon Cocks (Creative Commons Flickr)

What Wallace Stegner said: “Hard writing makes easy reading.” Photo: Simon Cocks (Creative Commons Flickr)

How we love the summer beach read! But these delightful books don’t get that way on their own. Lots of rereading, lots of edits. This describes my August as a novice Indie author.

“We do not suffer by accident.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Trust Jane to set me right. Yes, it was my choice to publish this new book on my own. My choice to shoulder the work. And there is a lot to do.

“Nobody can tell what I suffer! But it is always so. Those who do not complain are never pitied.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

July came with a few setbacks. A surgery and a stint in the hospital for observation. And, ha, a broken flash drive. “Crack” went the plastic USB connector. (Plastic! Who knew?) And along with it my notes for the ending of my novel. Which as you know, were the very finest words I’ve ever written.

“We are…unwilling to speak, unless we expect to say something that will amaze the whole room…”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Ah, but I’ve since regenerated the missing material, and my fears were groundless. The new is, in my humble opinion, much better than the old.

“How clever you are, to know something of which you are ignorant.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

And hey, this week’s blood work results were “fabulous” (my doctor’s words), so I am looking at a normal, productive August.

“All the world is good and agreeable in your eyes.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

It is! And I even have Darcy By Any Other Name formatted as a print book. I can learn a new skill.

“If I had ever learnt, I should have been a great proficient.”
Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

Proficient might not be the word I’d use to describe my progress, but I’m coming along. Here’s a screen capture from the first chapter to prove it.

As you see, I am learning how to format a book. What a kick!

Formatting your own book is rather fun. Um, once you get the kinks edited out. I continue to find more.

School does not begin until September 9th, so who knows? I might be able to squeeze in some of that delightful beach reading. Someone else’s book instead of my own.

“There is a temperate zone in the mind,
between luxurious indolence and exacting work;
and it is to this region, just between laziness and labor,
that summer reading belongs.”
Henry Ward Beecher

10 thoughts on “Moi, the Indie Author

  1. childofaslan

    My heart cracked at the cracked flash drive! Oy! And I’m only a tiny bit jealous about your September 9th start of school!!!! We start August 10th! Gah! (Oh, well, I’ll be happy in May. Sigh.) Bless Jane and summer reading and you.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile Post author

      Yes, my laptop slid off the coffee table and onto the floor, colliding with my foot and the projecting flash drive. So much for verifying my Camp NaNoWriMo word count, everything was there.

      Who knew I should back up my work on the hard drive?

      I did transfer some finished work to another file, so it was not a total loss. Just notes and pages of dialog and ideas. Stuff that I wrote down so that I wouldn’t have to remember!

      I am so buying one of those flash drives that doesn’t stick out. Live and learn.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  2. tgruy

    Sorry about your flash drive! But the idea behind it is to have a backup of the most important information in your hard drive, it’s so easy to lose the flash drives!
    I hope you’re able to recover most of the information and ideas in it.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile Post author

      That’s what I thought, safe on the flash drive. I’ve been able to think out what I had in my notes, saving a copy of that file to something new, the cloud. (My sons roll their eyes at me. “Mom, didn’t you know about the cloud?)

      Hard to admit the truth: much of the material I lost would have been tossed because it was too slow and plodding, especially for the ending. So the book is the better for it.🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
    1. Laura Hile Post author

      Hahahaha, Gayle. The word incandescent gets me every time, as Gayle knows. I was searching out Jane Austen quotations this morning for the post, and at Goodreads I found this.

      “You may only call me “Mrs. Darcy”… when you are completely, and perfectly, and incandescently happy.”
      ― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

      Um, no. This was from the 2005 movie, not Jane Austen’s pen. Funny how we forget that movies are adaptations.🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Susan Kaye

    In the not-so-distant past we were lectured to buy flash drives so as not to lose material to hard drive crashes. Now we know that flash drives get lost and break. The solution? The Cloud! The Cloud! My kingdom for a cloud! I’m afraid will find one day that the cloud is nothing but a cloud cuckoo land for hackers.

    I’m thinking Jane’s little desk and pen were the safest bet of all.

    Glad all the good stuff was recovered.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Laura Hile Post author

    I know, right? I worry about the security of cloud. And online banking. And, and, and. So Nathan brought home one of those stubby flash drives (even easier to lose!) but I think they’re supposed to stay plugged in. An excellent idea, unless the laptop gets stolen, ha.

    There’s always something…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

