Jane Austen is my chocolate.

Last week was our week of doctors. Every teacher knows what I mean. As the beginning of the school year approaches, we run around finishing up everything that we won’t have time to do for the next nine months. Included in that list are doctors’ appointments.

Without going into great detail, let me say only that I had a rather unpleasant medical test done last Monday which required a most disagreeable preparation last Sunday. Because I was unable to do much of anything to comfort myself, I turned to my favorite past time – watching Austen movies. I began with Pride and Prejudice and proceeded to watch Sense and Sensibility, Persuasion, Emma (two versions), and Northanger Abbey. It occurred to me that Austen calms me. In other words, her stories are my chocolate.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

With that in mind, I searched for literal Austen chocolate. I found this Austen quotable chocolate bar in an online store.

Austen chocolates were available at the Jane Austen Gift Shop in the U. K.

Austen chocolate 1

For those determined to do the right thing and avoid confections, there is this lovely Barbie dressed in an
Austen Chocolate Winter Dress.

Austen Barbie 2

I’m one of those people who thinks there can never be too much Austen.

8 thoughts on “Jane Austen is my chocolate.

  1. Gayle Mills

    Forrest Gump’s mother said it best, “Life is like a box of chocolates; you never know what you’re going to get.” This is especially true with JAFF. Authors are wonderfully creative in giving us continuations, what-if’s, variations, time travels, moderns…

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I agree! Unfortunately, I had to fast from Saturday night until Monday morning, so chocolate was off the menu. Clear liquids were allowed.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

