Loving Longest When All Hope is Gone

Georg_Friedrich_Kersting_005_detail “Oh!” cried Anne eagerly, “I hope I do justice to all that is felt by you, and by those who resemble you. God forbid that I should undervalue the warm and faithful feelings of any of my fellow-creatures! I should deserve utter contempt if I dared to suppose that true attachment and constancy were known only by woman. No, I believe you capable of everything great and good in your married lives. I believe you equal to every important exertion, and to every domestic forbearance, so long as — if I may be allowed the expression, so long as you have an object. I mean while the woman you love lives, and lives for you. All the privilege I claim for my own sex (it is not a very enviable one: you need not covet it), is that of loving longest, when existence or when hope is gone!”

Anne Elliot, Persuasion, Chapter 23

3 thoughts on “Loving Longest When All Hope is Gone

  1. Susan Kaye Post author

    I’m not sure that this is true. I think a case can be made that Frederick loved Anne all the time they were apart. I thin a case can be made that women of the time had more opportunity to quietly be eaten alive by regret.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    Wentworth’s perusal of Louisa in front of Anne, when he actually had no feelings beyond friendship for Louisa, was ungentlemanly of him. He deserved to suffer a bit for doing that.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

