Getting My Beauty Rest

Last week, I used my royalties to buy something absolutely wonderful. I joined the ranks of those who sleep comfortably through the night by doing my daughter and her husband a favor. She had purchased a king-sized Beauty Rest mattress made to his specifications here in South Carolina, and it was delivered to my house in its pristine plastic coverings after I finally convinced her that they do, indeed, sell mattresses in California. That took only three months. My daughter can be a little stubborn. I don’t know where she gets that from. (I know not to end a sentence with a preposition, but that’s an expression down here in the South.)

She would have had to rent a U Haul to drive it across the country, so by selling it to me, she saved a bundle, and I got a great mattress for the first time in my life.

To call my husband frugal is a vast understatement. The man will squeeze a penny until Lincoln hollers. Since I paid for this out of my own non-budgeted money, he remained silent and just enjoyed sleeping well.

bed king

I believe he was also torn between the pangs of seeing his daughter waste the money it would cost to ship the mattress to California and the alarming notion of his wife spending more money after the summer of THE WEDDING. The medicine went down a little easier when I pointed out that I was saving her the expense and him the trouble of driving her across the country in a U Haul and purchasing a plane ticket to fly back. All of that would have cost more than simply buying the mattress from her. She agreed with me, partly because she saw the vast wisdom of shipping a few things through the mail, packing as much as was allowed in her car when it was shipped, and checking two fifty-pound suitcases with her clothes when she flew out Sunday morning rather than driving across the entire country. (We bought her a second, super-large suitcase from Christian services for $5.00!) We returned her gifts to Bed, Bath, and Beyond for giftcards to replace it all in California. The Belk in our town agreed to ship all the gifts which came from their chain to her apartment at no charge to her. We also returned gifts from Target, Macy’s, and a local jewelers for giftcards. They’re so much lighter and easier to pack, and they’re free in your carry-on when you fly! And she gets to shop! And she can pick out everything she wants to decorate their apartment! And she didn’t have to listen to her dad’s taste in music for two solid days of driving! (That was the deciding factor.) Wins all the way around!

I had no idea mattresses had changed so much. This is the Taj Mahal of mattresses. It’s twenty-nine inches high. Someday I’ll have to post a video of myself climbing into bed. That’s true. I now literally climb into bed. I’m sure it would be funny (especially from behind). I simply have to remember how high it is when that alarm goes off. I’d hate to break a leg getting out of bed.

By the way, that’s not my room in the picture. I have the bed, but the redecorating will have to wait. I need to finish Understanding Elizabeth and write my new story, Pride and Pageantry, before that can happen.

8 thoughts on “Getting My Beauty Rest

  1. Laura Hile

    Oh Robin! “The man will squeeze a penny until Lincoln hollers.” Ha! I am the frugal one in my family, but when I gots money to spend, I spends it!

    The wonder of royalty money is buying those things that we’d like but never would shell out for. A win-win-win for you. Precious sleep is something money can’t buy…although you’ve seen that money can help it along.

    You’re right, I was thinking that was a photo of your bedroom. Write on, my friend, write on!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Like the Dashwoods, I live in somewhat of a cottage. I am excessively fond of my cottage, even if the bed now takes up the majority of the bedroom. I care not!

      Yes, I love my royalty money. To me, the only use for money is to spend it well. With the shaky economy, I don’t trust in savings very much. I’d rather have the bed. I can still sleep on that when the stock market crashes.

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          I’d need an addition to have a bedroom that size, but my husband’s heart couldn’t take it. I’ll just have to do the best I can with what I have. I don’t want to be widowed at 61.

          Liked by 2 people

          Reply
  2. Gayle Mills

    I’m glad you got a wonderful mattress. There are few material things that I would fight to keep: my Tempur-Pedic mattress and pillows are close to the top of that list. So sleep well, sweet sister, and if Larry gets to enjoy your largesse, so much the better.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

