Back to the Classroom

Photo: David Jakes (Creative Commons Flickr)

David Jakes (Creative Commons Flickr)

Can you hear the school bell ringing? I can, as I tread the empty hallway between my classroom and the photocopier. Yes, it’s time to put on my teacher hat.

This summer has been unusual, to say the least. The end of April saw me in Intensive Care, as I battled septic infection. With no bedroom on the main floor, I came home to live on the sofa. I was not strong enough to begin writing until mid-July.

Even so, I cranked out the final six chapters to my novel–just over 15,000 finished words. Not bad for a girl who woke up hearing “You know, you almost died.” Miss Shake-It-Off learned a few things about striking a balance between work and rest.

Now comes the true test of strength. I’ve got steam enough until lunchtime, but those afternoons? I’ll be walking out with the students at 2:45–a first for me!–and heading back to that sofa.

Autumn is my favorite season, a time of new beginnings. A crisp tang in the air, luminous colors, and a fresh beginning with new students. Working two careers keeps me young, right? Or at least too busy to notice the years as they pass. Or those bumps in the road.

Photo: David Jakes (Creative Commons Flickr)

Photo: David Jakes (Creative Commons Flickr)

7 thoughts on “Back to the Classroom

  1. janashe

    It matters that you continue to share your inspiration, thank you. I pray your strength is renewd late in the morning to carry you through til the bell rings and beyond

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      Thank you, Jan. I appreciate your prayers. When I think back over the summer–without shrugging it off–God’s grace has been everywhere apparent. It takes 12 to 18 months to recover full strength after sepsis. I am doing amazingly well for being four months out.

      My medical friends keep a careful watch.πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. gaylemills

    It would be nice if the “Bump” sign came with a time-specific subheading: Bump in 2 days; bump straight ahead in 1 month; bump imminent. Better yet: Bump over in 2 weeks. Hang in there. You’re almost over your bump.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Robin Helm

    I’m so excited that you’re feeling well enough to write again! I’m selfish. I want to know the ending to Darcy By Any Other Name. Take care, my wonderful friend.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      Doing my best. Some days “okay” is good enough, right? I am learning to step off the “treadmill” of work-work-work before I crash and burn.

      Good thing writing can be done sitting down!

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

