Meet me in Messinia?

Do you enter contests? I usually shrug and keep walking. Not my daughter-in-law. Internships, contests, you name it–she steps up and tosses her hat into the ring. She’s a “nothing ventured, nothing gained” kind of girl.
bohemeworkshopgreece_0002(As I write this, Jessica is on a flight bound for Athens. See, she entered this film photography contest–film is the new big thing–and she won the grand prize. Ready for this? A five-day bridal photography workshop in Messinia, Greece, courtesy of Bohême Studios.

I know, right? Bring on the writers’ workshops in Greece! Show me where to enter! Spurred on by Jessica’s success, I went hunting around. Here are a few writing contests with travel prizes:

  • Hard Times Writing Contest. Write about a difficult experience in your life, how you overcame this obstacle, and how you were changed by it.
    1st Place Prize: Choice of a 2 night stay at the Mountain Muse B&B (location: Asheville, NC), 3 free workshops, or 50 pages line-edited and revised by The Writers’ Workshop editorial staff. (Entry fee: $25)
  • Iceland Writers Retreat. Write a short story, essay or poem, no more than 500 words, on the theme “Iceland — A Land of Storytelling.”
    1st Place Prize: The full retreat package, including a free hotel stay (location: Reykjavík, Iceland), tours, most meals, and all workshops for the duration of the event. (No entry fee)
  • San Miguel Writers Conference. Submit poetry, creative nonfiction, or fiction.
    3 Grand Prizes: Full Conference Registration, free lodging (workshop location: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico), and an agent pitch session. (Entry fee: $30)
Jessica

So proud of our Jessica’s adventurous ambition

This workshop in Greece is an exciting boost to Jessica’s bridal photography business. She’ll be studying technique, networking with other photographers, and adding stunning photos to her professional portfolio. Airfare and transportation to the workshop location are not included, but are tax deductible.

Hey, I’m in business! I could use a tax deduction! So perhaps I’ll consider following Jessica’s example and enter one of those contests. Want to join me?

Meanwhile, my Ben is alone in their apartment with the cats. Greece is a long way from home, and I think he’s beginning to feel it.

UPDATE: Here are the first photos, via Instagram and Facebook. Captions are Jessica’s comments.

SO glad I got to visit the Acropolis & the Parthenon, much better in person than on an Art History slide

SO glad I got to visit the Acropolis & the Parthenon, much better in person than on an Art History slide

Taking it all in, this city is incredible!

Taking it all in, this city is incredible!

My balcony for a day! Traveling alone has actually been great so far, so easy to just wander and explore and relax. Tomorrow I get to meet over 20 new faces though, so stoked!

My balcony for a day! [Central Athens Hotel] Traveling alone has actually been great so far, so easy to just wander and explore and relax. Tomorrow I get to meet over 20 new faces though, so stoked!

 

Workshop photo montage is from the Bohême Studios website.

4 thoughts on “Meet me in Messinia?

  1. Gayle Mills

    What? The trip wasn’t for two? Poor Ben. I hope you’ll post some of Jessica’s pictures when she returns. As a side business, she should consider photographs for book covers.🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    Win the one in North Carolina, Laura. You could write about being mostly dead and your miraculous resurrection. Gayle and I could meet you there. Asheville is only a couple of hours away from us!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Susan Kaye

    Congratulations to Jessica. Sorry for Ben. When she is a stellar photog she can put on a workshop wherever she and Ben want to go. All of it deductible.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

