Numbering the days

Here I sit, typing on my brand new Hewlett Packard notebook, having relegated my eight-year-old Acer laptop to the land of outdated, worn out technology. I don’t miss the sound of the Acer’s fan, which has been warning me of its impending demise for several years now. I don’t even miss its extra two inches of screen, because my new laptop’s screen is touch-sensitive . I don’t miss the Acer’s slow navigation of the internet, or its small memory capacity.

HP notebook

 

But when I first bought the Acer, I thought it was wonderful. It was a huge upgrade from my PC with its gigantic monitor – so much faster, smaller, brighter, convenient. And now it sits beside me on the floor, waiting until I’m sure I have everything from it that I need before I discard it completely. I don’t want to risk finding that I didn’t get all my files copied to the new laptop.

After all, I wrote six books on that Acer, and I paid two hundred dollars more for it than I did for the HP. Technology gets smaller and cheaper the longer we have it. Remember those old eight tracks and the tube TVs?

senior

Sometimes, I feel a little like that Acer. I look back at pictures of my youthful self, and I remember looking at old people, thinking that I would never be like that. When did I stop looking like the me I expect to see in the mirror? Where did all those years go? Now I’m careful when I climb steps, and sometimes my knees hurt. I forget things.

But I’m also free from the incessant concern about whether or not I look pretty. Aging is liberating. I wear comfortable clothes and shoes that are good for my feet. I don’t hold myself to the impossible standard of remembering everything. I admit that I’m not as sharp as I was ten years ago. I now think in terms of the time I have left, and I want it to be meaningful. I still have books to write, music to play, and grandchildren to welcome. And I’m wiser now than I was. I don’t want to waste the remaining years of productivity.

I’ve already outlived Jane Austen by twenty years. She wrote in longhand, while I have this wonderful laptop. She never married and didn’t own a home. Her health suffered due to the primitive state of medicine during her lifetime. I have every advantage, and I refuse to accomplish less than she did.

“So teach us to number our days that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom.” Psalm 90:12

 

9 thoughts on “Numbering the days

  1. Susan Kaye

    The more I take on technology wise, the more I think about going back. I got a new laptop around Christmas. I upgraded to Windows 10 as soon as possible. Now, all I can think of getting back to the jumbotron screen of my desktop and how great Windows 98 was.

    Dinosaur, thy name is Sue.

    Have fun with the new technology.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I’m having to adjust, but I like it. I would never go back to a PC and jumbo monitor. I like my flat screen TV, too. 😉

      Like

      Reply
      1. Susan Kaye

        I used an ergonomic keyboard and loved it. I know, you can plug on into a laptop but then you have a footprint on an already overloaded desk. I may grab a desk top all-in-one before they go the way of the dinosaurs. I like the TV we have but more for the menus and presets I can mess with when the show is boring. (Gad, what a geek I am.)

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
    2. Laura Hile

      I know what you mean, Sue. I installed Windows 10 on both laptops (school and home)–and promptly turned off all the apps that supposedly make this upgrade so convenient! No, I do not want the geolocation thingy, or the tailoring ads to my personal taste thingy, or the music tracking thingy…

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Susan Kaye

        I did all that because I read an article that it uses bandwidth like crazy. And I already pay far more than I should for a horrific amount. All they want is to know everything we do all day long, where we do it from, and make us pay for it!

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

