Don’t be yourself for a change.

I know it isn’t quite correct of me, but I really like Hallowe’en. I do not at all believe in the occult, ghosts, or the glamorization of evil, but I do love dressing up, using my imagination, and being someone else for a while. Letting my creative side free is just fun, so joy-killers, back off. Let the children have fun.

I remember watching the debut of “Thriller” on television. I was amazed at the level of creativity, and I loved the dance. That video was the daddy of all music videos. No longer would the band just stand there and play. From that point on, there would be story lines. It was brilliance that is still appreciated, as is seen in this clip from the movie 13 Going on 30. Skip ahead to 1:06 for the dance.

Friday at school, my kids will present Grammar Rocks in our school amphitheater for all those students and parents who missed it the first time. After that, we’ll have our Fall Festival, and my activity will be a sort of karoke. I’ve revived some of the kids’ favorites, like “Spooky Night.” They all think they’re in the “Thriller” video when we sing and dance to it. We also like “Up the Creaky Stairs,” “Vampire Cowboy,” “Spooky Uke,” “The Ghost of John,” and “The Haunted Piano.”

Looking at the Hallowe’en costumes in WalMart gave me a great idea for my granddaughter’s Christmas presents.  My daughters always loved to dress up. Mandy was She-Ra (always saving the world with her sword – no wonder she joined the military), and Melly was Ariel, Jasmine, or the Pink Power Ranger (saving the world in a cool, pink outfit). I bought several costumes for Charlie, and I can’t wait to see her all dressed up! Since her dad’s squadron is the Bat Squadron, she had to be Batgirl. But there’s also that independent streak, so Anna for those “Let me do it!” moments. Then, we all have a little Snow White inside. She already has “Frozen.” If I include the old “Snow White” movie, she can sing and dance along.

costumes 2

11 thoughts on “Don’t be yourself for a change.

  1. Susan Kaye

    The Granddaughter is a fairy this year and she looks terrific. We are still jumping between a baby zombie and Tony Stark–red jammies and eye liner pencil mustache–for the Grandson. I on the other hand am dressing up as a Saturday night couch potato. Bill and I will be in matching costumes.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
      1. Susan Kaye

        To show I haven’t changed much, as a kid I was usually a ghost because that only entailed cutting holes in a sheet and a bag. Or, a hobo: find a big coat and a bag.

        My cheapness disallows cutting up sheets these days, but the hobo thing is my usual look in winter.

        Like

        Reply
  2. Robin Helm Post author

    You and Bill will match Larry and me. Ha! I don’t know what Charlie will be for Halloween, but I hope to get pictures. My daughter is close to delivering another granddaughter, so I don’t know whether or not she’ll be up to dressing up Charlie.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye

      The fun part for us is that no one comes trick-or-treating out here. In nearly 20 years nary a trickster. Ah, one of the joys of living in the tulies.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  3. Sophia Rose

    Ah yes, I’m was very predictable with the costumes. I always dressed as Snoopy b/c I wanted to wear the same costume as my dad and he had a Snoopy costume each year. Cute what you’re doing for your class and then with the costumes for your granddaughter.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks, Sophia Rose. I love Snoopy. Did you have a doghouse? I would have fallen off the roof. lol I’m going to check again for costumes after Halloween when they go on sale. Then, I’ll have to mail the package to make sure it gets to Japan by Christmas.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

