Answered Prayer – Toby’s Dog Tale

Toby & LarryOn Thursday, October 8, I let our Yorkie Poo, Toby, out to do his business. Nothing unusual. Same routine for eleven years. However, after an hour, he hadn’t come back, so I called my husband. Larry came home and called him, but Toby still didn’t come. That afternoon, Larry biked over the whole neighborhood, combed the woods, called the Humane Society, and rode up and down roads looking for him. He put up a picture at our vet’s office, and I put it up on Facebook, both on my personal page and on the Lancaster Lost Pets page. Everyone knew Toby, because Larry had taken him to the Wee School at church, kayaking, and bike riding. Half the town was praying for Toby’s return.

Our daughter who lives in Japan e-mailed the local paper. It took her over a week, but she set up a lost pet ad. We had two calls from the ad, but both were wash outs. After nearly three weeks of looking out the door for him, praying for his return, and missing him, we were convinced he was either dead or taken. We thought we would never see sweet Toby again.

Around noon on Wednesday, October 28, nearly three weeks after he’d disappeared, I answered another phone call. The caller asked me the location of our home, and I replied that it was close to the Health Department. She replied that she had found a little Yorkie in the parking lot of the Health Department on Thursday a few weeks prior. The more we talked, the more convinced I became that she really did have Toby. I asked for her address and phone number, and she agreed to let me come get him.

I tried to call Larry, but his phone went to voicemail, so I headed for my car alone. I didn’t know the area, so I was a little hesitant to go by myself. He had ended up six miles from our house after the lady rescued him. As I was backing out of the garage, Larry called back, and I told him I was going to get Toby. He was, naturally, skeptical that it was actually Toby, but he agreed to let me meet him at the church. In a few minutes, we were on our way.

When she came to the door holding Toby, we could hardly believe it. Toby stared at us like he couldn’t believe it either. It was a joyous reunion.

Several things occurred to me. The lady told us that Toby was nearly hit by a car in that parking lot. Since he wasn’t wearing a collar, she took him home and cared for him. 1) We were fortunate that he was found by a caring person. 2) The lady didn’t have the internet, so she didn’t see anything I put on Facebook. 3) She wasn’t in our neighborhood, so when Larry talked to all of our neighbors, she had no way of knowing. 4) She lived six miles away in an area in which our church ministers during The Way every summer. 5) She normally didn’t buy newspapers, but she bought one that day to see if there was a lost pet ad about Toby. It was the last day the ad would run. Thank you, Mandy. We wouldn’t have thought to place the ad. 6) When the lady saw us, she recognized us. Her grandchildren attend the church’s AWANA program. I have two of them in my music large group time, and Larry has one in his Puggles group music.

There are too many coincidences for it to be coincidental.

For the record, Toby now wears a collar bearing his name and our phone number. Larry also put up a run for him. When he needs to go outside, I clip him to the run. We won’t lose him again.Toby kissToby snuggle

9 thoughts on “Answered Prayer – Toby’s Dog Tale

  1. Susan Kaye

    I’m glad Toby is home again. I don’t think there are any coincidences. Random, odd happenings that we see no connection in maybe. But we have a limited view from here on the ground. It takes moving to the upper levels to see anything clearly.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    Just like appliances know when we’ve received a bonus at work–and break down!–so Toby must have heard about the series of children’s books you were planning to write. Sounds like he thought one of them needed to be over-the-top exciting and so he helped you.

    Rejoicing with you at this marvelous answer to our prayers…

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

