Winter and Writing

Winter has finally come to the South. My husband mowed the leaves in our yard this past Saturday. When we were younger, we raked them a few times, but now he takes the easier route, and mowing the leaves is actually good for the soil.

I brought in all of my porch plants Friday. The temperature was forecast to dip to 31 degrees on Friday night, so I cut back their overgrowth and hauled them into the living room, dining room, and garage. Southerners and plants don’t like weather that’s below freezing. Lizard

This morning, as I looked at my plant-filled house, I noticed a stowaway. A lizard had hitched a ride in on my philodendron basket. Larry will have to catch him and take him back outside, or he’ll starve. My reflexes have never been fast enough to catch a lizard, even if I’d ever wanted to do so. Larry is the champion of lizards, spiders, and crickets. He won’t kill them, because they’re good. My thoughts hop from one thing to another.

This is good writing weather. My mind drifts. It’s too cold to enjoy being outdoors for very long, so I’ll sit at my laptop and work on my latest effort – Understanding Elizabeth. This odd story just keeps winding through my mind. What if Darcy knew beforehand that Elizabeth had overheard him at the Assembly? What if he knew what she thought of him? What if he could change that? What would he pay to change it?

If you could go back and change the course of your life, would you? What would you be willing to pay to do that? If the lizard had understood what it could cost him to hitch that ride, he might not have chosen to hide in my plant. Would you make a different choice if you knew the outcome beforehand?

4 thoughts on “Winter and Writing

  1. Susan Kaye

    I regret some things I’ve done, but going back to change things would probably open bigger and badder cans of worms. I think dogs should be allowed to sleep in most cases.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        Like you, Robin, I am always curious, Probably too curious.

        Would having a re-do mean an easier life? Tempting…

        Then again, without hardships would I become like one of those too-opinionated buyers on House Hunters?

        “I am very particular about finishes…” *shudder*

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
        1. Robin Helm Post author

          Those house-hunting shows crack me up. Those people are so concerned with appearances. I like a nice house, yes, but I have no problem with laminate wood floors. Who do they think they are?

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

