It took a village (or two)

Village laddervillage in process

 

With one daughter in Japan and the other across the country in California, I couldn’t work up much enthusiasm for putting up a Christmas tree this year. However, my husband has always loved the ceramic and porcelain village pieces that I’ve collected over the past twenty-five years. I decided to haul them out for him, so I showed him a picture of a display that I like on Pinterest. He began to plan how to make it.

We bought a six-foot stepladder from Home Depot, and he cut plywood to complete the shelving. It took him most of his Saturday afternoon, but he was done by evening, and I began to decorate. Village lit

village complete

To my amazement, I had well over thirty buildings. It turned out to be beautiful. I enjoyed it so much, that I decided to get out my smaller village pieces as well, so that we could have something lit in the living room. I unpacked over forty pieces, and my work-in-progress is still ongoing.

I still need to place the trees and people in the small one, but I’m in no big hurry. I plan to leave them up through February. These are WINTER villages.

village small

You may be amused to know that I actually play with the people. I move them around and make up stories. The time period is Victorian, and though that’s a few years past Austen’s masterpieces, it’s close enough for me.

Churches flank the very top shelf of the large village, and each has a bride and groom exiting to musicians and singers.

Jane and Bingley are on the left; Elizabeth and Darcy to the right. I’ll post closeups of my favorite scenes next week.

What are you doing this Christmas season?

15 thoughts on “It took a village (or two)

    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thank you, Jennifer! These villages are a great deal of work to set up, but we enjoy them so much! They’re actually collector’s items now. I had to buy replacement light strands on Amazon. Walmart used to carry them.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Laura Hile

    No kidding it took twenty-five years to assemble this collection. Wow! I don’t blame you for wanting to keep your villages up all winter. I have one solitary Dickens-village building. I love it and use it all year as a night light. What would I do with more? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Ha! What I love, I love to excess. I adore my children and family, I immerse myself in music, I can’t write a book – it has to be a series. What can I say?

      Liked by 3 people

      Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        Live with gusto, that’s the idea. You don’t try to do–or collect! –everything. I’m thinking your night-time villages are beautiful in person. I have always liked those table-top train sets, designed like little kingdoms with mountains and farms and towns for the train to travel around and through. But…no space for one!

        Liked by 2 people

        Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    It’s great to bring out things we’ve collected over the years. And, I think you’re wise to leave it up for a while. At our house, the tree is up and the lights strung. Bill and I got a blown-glass topper this morning. The granddaughter is coming this weekend and we’ll let her choose some ornaments to put up. That’s about it.

    Again, this arrangement looks great, Robin.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I think doing things together like this strengthens a marriage. We need to find more things to do that we both enjoy. Puzzles? Discussing books?

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

