A Most Happy Day

To the lady who brought us to this point!

Anyone hazard a guess where they might be and what they might be doing were it not for Jane Austen and her tempting characters?

I’m thinking that instead of writing I’d be working in retail. And at this time of year, that would be dangerous for me and for the buying public!

How about you? What sorts of things would you be reading, or writing had Jane Austen, and the fan fiction craze, come along?

OldDesignShop_YellowRoseBirthdayPC-Clean

4 thoughts on “A Most Happy Day

  1. Sophia Rose

    That is an interesting thought. I would definitely still be a voracious reader, but not only would I not have encountered Jane Austen’s works, there are other writings that she influenced that would be missing, too. My career would be intact, but I wouldn’t be driving my co-workers crazy with Janeisms.

    But she did gift the world with her writing talent so I can breathe easy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      My life would be completely different. I had written some forced creative writing assignments in school, but had never written anything I actually cared about until I found Bits of Ivory at Pemberley.com. After reading a lot of P&P fics I saw the ’95 Persuasion, wrote Plymouth and the rest is my history.

      I still read more mysteries than Austen fan fiction so that would not have changed. It’s just now when I read a bad book, I go start writing again to counteract the poison. I used to just throw the books away.

      Thanks for commenting, Sophia Rose.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    My house would be cleaner, or so I’d like to think.๐Ÿ™‚

    Naw, I would spend my free time reading mysteries. “Okay, okay,” I’d say (same as now), “I’ll get to it after the next chapter.” Or the next…

    If Sue had not challenged me to dabble in Austen fiction, I’d still be teaching 7th grade, But I would never have become a published author, and therefore would never be teaching high school fiction writing. That has been the best bonus Jane Austen has given me. I get to help students discover the wonder of writing, and then grow in their skill as storytellers. My books are cast into the wide world and entertain readers I never will never meet. But seeing, face-to-face, the delight of students–and their astonishment that classmates sincerely enjoy their stories and want more–is beyond great.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Yeah, if I had know how bloody long Love Suffers Long would become I might have stayed mum about you writing.

      As for the clean house, nah, I have no illusions about that. I’m a marginal cleaner. And that’s on my good days!!

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

