Welcome to My Little World

Village 1

Sled riders race down the mountain from the lodge toward the boarding school.

Village 2

The local tailoring shop is quite busy with the ladies buying dresses for Christmas parties

Village 3

This residential area is full of people enjoying the snow and sleigh rides.

Village 4

A lawyer leaves City Hall to head home after a tiring day while a band plays next door.

Village 5

Life never slows down on a farm. The livestock must be fed and watered.

Village 6

The farm boys gather for a game of football before dinner after their chores are done.

Village 7

Though the boys play, the wood must still be chopped for heat and cooking.

Village 24

Lizzy and Darcy greet well-wishers and choirboys as they leave their Christmas wedding. A living nativity nestles next to the church.

 

Village 8

The towering church stands next to the parson’s house.

Village 9

Children gather for a neighborhood snowball fight.

Village 10

Visitors to the hunting lodge take advantage of a frozen lake and enjoy an evening of ice skating.

Village 25

Singers and instrumentalists gather to carol at a local church.

Village 23

The shopping district is quite busy. People visit the Christmas Shop, department stores, and restaurants.

12 thoughts on “Welcome to My Little World

  1. Laura Hile

    I am loving seeing your villages, Robin. Without knowing it, you were meant to be an author, even all those years ago. Moving the people around and creating stories for them is very telling. As an author you move them around AND you get to make them talk.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      My mother always said I should write books. She saw it in me before I did, Laura, and she had more confidence in my abilities than I did. I can see it in my daughters, too. When their lives settle down, they’ll write more. Mandy has already published one book.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Laura Hile

        My dad said the same thing to me. I was floored. Writing sounded so unlikely–I didn’t see my talent. In some ways, I don’t see it now.🙂

        I say the same “You are a writer” thing to my sons. They shake their heads like I once did. Time will tell.

        I remember Mandy’s book, especially the gripping hospital scenes. Yes, she’s got the gift.

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    There are two kinds of people in the world: those who collect things, and those who try. And fail. I am part of the latter group. I admire the focus it takes to add-to and maintain a collection this large. And the energy it took to put it up!

    Merry Christmas to you and your vast enterprise!😉

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I collect angels, paperweights, and miniature pianos, too, but those collections aren’t nearly this large. There’s something comforting in unpacking my villages. It’s as if the people have been waiting for me, and they greet me as old friends.

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  3. Janet B Taylor

    I love your village! You have it displayed very well. I started a collection or rather my mother did for me, but I did not have a good place to display it right now. Seeing all your pretties, makes me want to find a place and set mine up again. I miss it! I do not have one near the size of yours but I enjoyed it. They do take a large amount of time, setting up and taking down but the pleasure they bring makes it worth it! Thanks for sharing yours!

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I tell myself it’s a WINTER village and leave it up through February. It really is a great deal of work – too much to put up for a few weeks. This is the best way I’ve seen to display it. I’m loving it! Thanks for stopping by, Janet.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

