Falling rain and springtime hope

Photo: jc.winkler  (Creative Commons Flickr)

Yellow is more cheerful, but I like these striped kinds of crocus best. Photo: jc.winkler (Creative Commons Flickr)

 

“Is the spring coming?” he said. “What is it like?”
“It is the sun shining on the rain
and the rain falling on the sunshine…”

― Frances Hodgson Burnett, The Secret Garden

Winter in the Pacific Northwest is a season to endure. Gray and overcast with plenty of rain, our sunrises happen under the clouds–for about a minute or two. Look quickly! That’s about the only time the sun appears. Talk about dreary.

The beautiful leaves of autumn are now ugly brown mush on the road. I find myself tramping along the sidewalk instead of striding. Head down, I’m focused only on reaching my destination, hoping I can make it before the dark clouds overhead unleash another downpour.

“When it is misty, in the evenings, and I am out walking by myself, it seems to me that the rain is falling through my heart and causing it to crumble into ruins.”  ― Gustave Flaubert

20160131_144400Despite the rain, this winter has been mild. Several weeks ago I began hearing birds–in January? Incredible! And during Friday’s tramp, my downcast gaze found sprouts of green beside the sidewalk. Tips of daffodil leaves! And crocus! I’d forgotten they grew there. I hurried home and examined my front garden with new interest.

Why, signs of spring were all around–for those with eyes to see. The star magnolia has tiny buds. The grape hyacinths have put up fledgling tips, along with the iris and the Shasta daisies and the Columbines. Hope for spring!

Image: TheLoveliestHour.com

Trust Jane to call Patience by its better name: Hope. Image: TheLoveliestHour.com

Months of winter remain, but the year will turn–I can see it. The return of the sun will drive melancholy away. In the meantime, I will continue tramping from home to school and back again, but with a somewhat lighter heart.

Then again, winter is the season for books. How can I have forgotten something as important as that? Bring on the rain! For what better time is there to curl up a favorite read?

 

 

“Surely everyone is aware of the divine pleasures which attend a wintry fireside; candles at four o’clock, warm hearthrugs, tea, a fair tea-maker, shutters closed, curtains flowing in ample draperies to the floor, whilst the wind and rain are raging audibly without.”  ―Thomas de Quincey

11 thoughts on “Falling rain and springtime hope

    1. Laura Hile

      I love autumn best because of the golden weather and beautiful leaves–and the crisp air. But spring is all about hope. To see flowers and new leaves–and blue sky and sunshine–is wonderful.

      Like

      Reply
  1. Susan Kaye

    We had a 60 degree day last week and the frogs were out that night. Lots of spring flowers are coming. My hope is that the Arctic Express doesn’t swing through and toast their little tips.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
          1. Susan Kaye

            That’s my biggest fear. I’m okay with my life remaining a boring series of mundane events. It’s those events that would juice-up a Lifetime movie series that set my teeth on edge…

            Liked by 2 people

            Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    Our winter was crazy. We had Christmas in shirt sleeves followed by an ice storm which shut schools down for a Friday and made a delay the following Monday. Some of my spring plants came up in December and were killed in January. Here’s hoping they catch a second wind during April!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile Post author

      You have had a winter to remember. We are making up for several years of drought with rain. Real rain, honest rain–a half-inch a day or more–not the usual drizzle.

      It’s raining now, in fact. Time to haul out the raincoat and umbrella for my tramp home.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

