Those Bennet Valentines

Image: liz west (Creative Commons Flickr) of an illustration by James Montgomery Flagg

Image: liz west (Creative Commons Flickr) of an illustration by James Montgomery Flagg

What better way to spend a winter’s morning than making Valentines? The Bennet girls have been busy. Ah, but will they be bold enough to post them? Let’s take a peek:

Lydia

Lydia

Roses are red, violets are blue.
Who is my Valentine?
Is he you, you, or you?
I do love a red coat,
My favorite hue.
When I make up my mind
Then my love will be true.
 
 

Mary

Mary

I read aloud and pour out tea,
And yet you seldom notice me.
I sing and play as well as the others;
My nerves are nothing like my mother’s!
A parsonage is where I’d shine,
Mr. Collins, be my Valentine!
 
 
 

Kitty

Kitty

You officers are such good friends
But you haven’t any money.
I dream of someone rich and fine
Who’ll dare to call me “Honey.”
 
 
 

Jane

Jane

The finest, dearest, kindest man
(in addition to dear Father)
Has come my way; is this God’s plan?
My patient heart’s a-flutter!
 
 
 

Elizabeth

Elizabeth

Violets are blue, like the penstemon.
I asked for True Love and was given a Lemon.
Yes, you are richer than Tom, John, or Harry.
But you’re still the last man
I ever would marry!

6 thoughts on “Those Bennet Valentines

  1. allthoughtswork

    Lydia: “I saw him first on Tinder!”

    Mary: “If a man is not on LinkedIn, he’s not worth pursuing.”

    Kitty: “I do SO have more Twitter followers than you, Lydia!”

    Jane: “Have you seen the new Facebook updates of our cousins?”

    Elizabeth: “A dick pic?! Who the hell does he think he is?”

    Like

    Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    The girls could go to work for Hallmark. I’m sure Lydia would soon make her way to those cards I always slip behind others, hoping no one saw me reading them.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

