Pride and Precedence: That pest, I. Dunno

GiovanniBoldiniAfternoonStroll-MM2

We have a new member of our household, although I have no idea how he came to join us.

His name is I. Dunno, and apparently he is responsible for much of what goes on behind my back.

I mean, really. I cannot be expected to notice what happens in the house every minute of the day!

Ask my eldest son any question:

  • Who broke the vase?
  • Who let the dogs out of the kennel?
  • Who left the toy soldiers on the dining room floor?

The culprit is always I. Dunno. This Mr. Dunno is a very busy person. And he is no gentleman, let me tell you. He is a nuisance and a bother, and the sooner he is gone, the happier I will be.

The servants have begun to speak of him as well, no doubt encouraged by Little Charles’ example. They use an additional surname: I. Dunno Ma’am.

I would like to give Mr. I. Dunno a piece of my mind!

I would like to give Mr. I. Dunno a piece of my mind!

It is most vexing.

My husband is no help. He says that Little Charles has an imaginary friend. And then he laughs, as if this were funny.

Is it any wonder that our youngest has begun to follow suit?  He has a entire troop of these imaginary nuisances.

Yes, he does, and I can name them: Howe Come and N. Uh and Was N. Tmee.

Sometimes I think parenting will be the death of me. Already I have lost my figure and my youthful bloom. And now, it seems, I am losing my sanity as well.

If imaginary friends come to call at your house, send them packing straightway!

Most cordially,

Mary Elliot Musgrove
Daughter of Sir Walter Elliot, Bart.
Future Mistress of Uppercross

Laura Hile (1)

Mary’s “portrait” is Afternoon Stroll by Giovanni Boldini

5 thoughts on “Pride and Precedence: That pest, I. Dunno

  1. Robin Helm

    I’ve always wanted a Tuit. I ask my husband when he’ll fix a certain thing in the house, and he answer, “When I get a round Tuit.” They must come in different shapes.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

