An Observation

3440791711_28e5d9d703_z

 

Mum old man taps bell.
Barely a sound calls help.
Mumness surrounds him.

 

 

We are to blog as writers so that we have a platform. We create a platform so that people find us and read our books. They read our books, we make a living, and the cycle continues.

Except when you hit days like today.

The above lame haiku came about because I was going to describe a trip to the store last week. Down and dirty: Dollar Store. Checkers restocking, checkout empty. Bell on belt for service. Older man gets there before me. I ask him to ring. Startle him. Tiny voice says, okay. His ring is as tiny as his voice. Checker comes and all’s well that ends well.

I was going to observe that people resemble their noticeable traits. He was small, stooped, took up little space. His voice was tiny. His ring of the bell was light, barely noticeable.

Writing that was taking up too much time because I’m a wordy old blowhard. I searched for a picture of an older man to go with the  post so I could shorten it. Couldn’t find a pic of a frail old man so chose to go with a writing prompt of a weird pic I DID find.

Nothing worth reading.

Wrote the above, lame haiku to post. Found a pic of a desk bell to go with lame haiku above.

That took nearly two hours.

Thank the Lord I wrote earlier today and got something real accomplished.

Unless reading this, and seeing that other people have to wade through useless effort,  helps you. Then it’s not a waste. <smile>

However this day shakes out, Happy Tuesday!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “An Observation

  1. janashe

    insightful little piece that I actually enjoyed very much – got a great visual of you and he at checkout! of course, I also do enjoy your writing .. long stories or short pieces, your word economy and descriptive flair are always pleasing

    Like

    Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    Perhaps because I’m at school–yes, very probably! –the ending lines from Alexander and The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day come to mind: “My mom says some days are like that. Even in Australia.”

    May tomorrow be a better day for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Susan Kaye Post author

      Thanks, but now I see even at this I haven’t made myself clear. The day is not all that bad. I’m rounding on 2k words written so there is that. It’s just rying to get thoughts together that seems to be the trouble.

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

