The Way

Send me.

Isaiah 6:8 “Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, ‘Whom shall I send,
and who will go for Us?’ Then I said, ‘Here am I. Send me!’ “

 

I’ve been busy with a week-long community service project that our church conducts yearly in our county. It’s an exciting time. What a blessing to serve our neighbors!

unspecified8MKMMNKJ

Equestrian track

This year, around three hundred of our church people signed up to work on twenty-six different tracks. We are out in the community washing cars, cutting grass and trees, singing to people in convalescent centers, visiting shut-ins in their homes, having day camps with children in lower economic circumstances, and stuffing Christmas stockings in readiness for the upcoming holiday season.

IMG_0817

Hope Track – stuffing Christmas stockings

We are praying, cooking—both for the workers and as a soup kitchen which travels nightly—and worshiping, along with painting faces, making crafts, taking horses to the neighborhoods so that children can ride, and working to sort clothing in our Closet ministry (which will have a big day before school starts). We are also collecting book bags and school supplies from the workers in The Way.

unspecifiedZU689L9T

Car Washing Track

There are five different handyman projects, too. We’re building wheelchair ramps, digging water lines, and fixing floors (for non-members), and repairing the home of one of the church members. There’s a support track for the ten people who keep all this up and running.

unspecifiedS0B55KXM

Handyman Track

We all pay to participate in The Way, but there is no charge for anything we do. My church and its people don’t do these things to make money. Refreshing, yes?

unspecifiedAGLPFP6F

Culinary Track

I’m one of eight people on the media track. We travel to all the other tracks, documenting in stills and video what is being accomplished. We have up new video and Power Point every night to keep our people fired up and encouraged. I put together the Power Point, so it’s fairly time consuming – all day on the Power Point and all night going out to the tracks. It’s truly amazing to see the scope of this project. What a blessing! I don’t have the hardest job, but I enjoy it.

unspecified7WKMK786

Grass Cutting Track

As you see, I’ve shared a few pictures. I can’t show the faces of the children to whom we minister because of security issues. Some of these precious little ones have been taken from dangerous situations, and we are careful not to endanger them by putting their pictures on public media.

So that’s what I’ve been doing instead of working on Southern Fried Austen. This is a special week, and I’m loving it.

2 thoughts on “The Way

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

