There’s an app for that…

 

Who knew the coffee house vibe was so productive?

Many creatives swear by the coffee house vibe. I can see why. Photo: Wonderlane (Creative Commons Flickr)

Ah, the hum of the coffee house. For me, it’s an inexpensive place to chat with a friend. For others, this atmosphere offers a lifeline to creativity.

There’s a special combination: The upbeat music, the muted conversations, the hiss of the espresso machine–ha! and the caffeine. It’s a synergistic thing that gets many people working, writing, thinking, and doing. Me, I go there to talk for hours. And I come home smelling like coffee grounds.

Not walking two miles to Starbucks

No! Not walking those two miles to Starbucks! It’s 90 degrees today!

Home’s the best workplace for people like me.  See, I work on the cheap. I make coffee here–already paid for– and get the laptop up and running. Then I start in. These days I’m sharing a car–our latest experiment. To go to a coffee house, I’d have to drive my husband to and from work, or else walk to Starbucks–a mile each way–toting my not-so-small laptop. The hike home is all uphill. Uh, no.

So I fake the coffee house vibe with apps. My  fondness for mental wandering needs help to stay focused. One app I use is a pomodoro-type timer called Clear Focus. It keeps me on task for 25 minutes at a time–no backtracking, no stopping. No Facebooking or Tweetiing. It’s amazing how much I can accomplish when I stay at it.

And then there’s CoffitivityThis is a white noise app that mimics the atmosphere of the coffee house. I originally downloaded this for use on the train, because conversations around me can be distracting. This week I’ve been using it for the creative sound vibes. They help!

Tools of the trade: calendar, Kindle text, laptop

Tools of the trade: strict calendar goals, Kindle text, laptop

The Mercy’s Embrace re-release is a giant project, and I’m running for daylight. Proofreading is something I can do during the school year, but typing?  Rather than hire a firm I’ve decided to type out the text from the Kindle edition of my books. Another real life illustration that you need to back up your back-up files–because you never know.

No whining from me! This project is an excellent opportunity to make good writing even better. Honest. I’m loving it.

And hey, it’s still summer. For Robin and Gayle, Monday, August 15th, is the first day back in the classroom. A sobering reminder that the school year, it is a-coming.

Laura Hile (1)

5 thoughts on “There’s an app for that…

  1. Gayle Mills

    I laughed at the thought of an app for white noise — and then I remembered that I keep a fan running in my bedroom so that I can sleep without hearing every little creak and groan as the house settles a little more and the frogs have their playtime around the pool. Obviously, we need noise to drown out the noise.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      We now have crickets, a wondrous summer sound, It does not get warm enough for them until summer’s end–still an odd adjustment for this California girl. Our corn and tomatoes ripen in August and September. This year everything is early, along with the turning of the leaves. Autumn is rushing to meet us.

      Easy does it at school tomorrow, my friend. You’ve got a lot on your plate just making it through the day. A year ago in September I went back at 75% of my usual strength. I walked out with the students, came home, and crashed on the sofa. “Go thou and do likewise” okay?

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
        1. Robin Helm

          I love this upbeat attitude from two of my favorite people. Please take care of yourself, ladies. I’m thinking of myself here. Selflishly, I couldn’t stand to lose either of you, and you’re not ten feet tall and bulletproof like you think you are.

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

