What Happens When Two Bad Habits Collide

Courtesy Avenue G, Flickrr, Creative Commons

Courtesy Avenue G, Flickr, Creative Commons

I am sitting around waiting for a new debit card. By the title of this post, you might think I had a great calamity befall me. Nah, nothing that exciting. Come to think, my problem came about not by way of two bad habits. I think it was more What Happens When a Character Flaw and a Bad Memory Join Forces. That doesn’t trip off the tongue so I went in another direction.

Here’s what happened: in May, I ordered a mattress cover. A puffy mattress cover that would change my life according to the host of the HSN show. It was on sale for a good price, but since I am loathe to spend more than ten dollars at a time, I ordered it using their free Flex Pay option.  I could have paid the full price but the full cost gave me the willies. I got the cover immediately, put it on the bed and forgot about the arrangement.

Until last Wednesday. I saw the charge for $20 and just KNEW i hadn’t ordered anything from HSN recently. I called my credit union. The customer service agent looked through my account and found ANOTHER charge from HSN in July. Quelle suprise! Our conclusion was that my account had been  COMPROMISED. (Yes, I felt unclean.) The CU decided to issue me a new card.

I went to HSN and found that Wednesdays’ payment, I had paid off my mattress cover and was encouraged to buy more stuff.

In my defense, starting in June, I coordinated the move of my mother from North Idaho, and have been getting used to another adult in the house. My ability to keep track of even the most mundane chores and obligations has been compromised.

No, I didn’t call the credit union and fess up. I am waiting for the new card and dreading trying to remember a new PIN while forgetting the old one–the one I’ve had for nearly six years.

Resolved: No Flex Pays. From now on, I will be writing down everything.

Thanks for listening. Now I’m off to change Mom’s auto-pay accounts for Direct TV and Verizon. Those people play rough and will do more than make me learn a new PIN.

2 thoughts on “What Happens When Two Bad Habits Collide

  1. Gayle Mills

    There’s a price to be paid for x months same as cash, and sometimes it is your sanity. I am so tied into my routine, that when I left my phone recharging overnight instead of putting it beside my purse, I walked out the door without it. I just can’t juggle small changes the way I used to. Sounds like you’re there, too. Sounds like your credit is more flexible than your memory.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

