The Call of the Classroom …

Photo: Ian Burt (Creative Commons Flicker)

Just keep moving forward, kid. One step at a time. You’ve got this. And so do I. Photo: Ian Burt (Creative Commons Flicker)

Photo: b k (Creative Commons Flickr)

Autumn rambles are the best. Photo: b k (Creative Commons Flickr)

The leaves of our trees, they are a-turning.  Our summer days are noticeably shorter; Canada geese honk overhead; the Queen Anne’s Lace is blooming along the highways. And if we can quit having heat waves around here, our mornings will take on that delicious autumn tang.

The leaves of our schoolbooks will soon be turning too. This is my last full week at home–and although I have a scary amount of writing work to finish up, I’m ready for a change. Okay, almost ready…

The ‘Call of the Classroom’ is real. Funny how that works. At the beginning of a holiday, I never want it to end. But by the final afternoon, I’m ready to head home. It’s the same with school. Then too, it’s almost autumn, my favorite season of the year.

Photo: Gary Leavens (Creative Commons Flickr)

When these guys fly overhead, autumn is on the way. (Or summer, depending…) Photo: Gary Leavens (Creative Commons Flickr)

Don’t you love New York in the fall?
It makes me want to buy school supplies. I would send you a bouquet of newly-sharpened pencils if I knew your name and address…

~ Joe Fox  to Kathleen Kelly in You’ve Got Mail

It’s the time of new beginnings, autumn is.  A fresh school year, a clean start.  While the weary teacher in me mourns the loss of summer freedom, the rested teacher is eager for the crackling energy of the classroom. And the lovely scent of new-sharpened pencils.

What’s with the new pencil thing? It gets me every time. Along with a just-opened packet of crayons, lined up and ready to use.

Quote Series ChalkboardSweaters, pumpkin spice lattes, and a fire on the hearth. Rain-washed sidewalks and cloud-shrouded skies–I welcome these. Along with the buzz of laughter in the now-silent school halls.

Yes, it’s almost time to get that classroom up and running. Unlock the doors and welcome in a new set of lively minds. That’s the best thing about a fresh school year: the undiscovered potential.

In the meantime, there is much to be done around here. So, to quote Patrick McGillvary — it’s been a kick to interact with him as I retool Mercy’s Embrace! — I’d “best be cracking on.”
Laura Hile (1)

6 thoughts on “The Call of the Classroom …

  1. Robin Helm

    You’ve got mail is a favorite of mine, too.

    When my girls were in school, I’d always take them back-to-school shopping a few before they went back. New backpacks, clothes, and supplies eased the path back to school. Students have that “new pencil” thing going on, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      I will be shopping for classroom supplies sometime this week. It’s so great to get supplied set up for a new year.

      How I loved the childhood “school clothes shopping spree” at summer’s end.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Susan Kaye

    We took Selah shopping for school clothes last week. Though it was just clothes. Her dad gets to take her to shop for school supplies. Now THAT would be a real pleasure! (I have my eye on a charming, classy backpack. $25. I don’t even use backpacks. What is wrong with me?!?)

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile

      I still have an old backpack of Ben’s, purchased on markdown at a luggage shop. He was ten, and Don spent $35? (This was 13 years ago). Ben quit using it after a few years, wanting a sport bag for high school. That backpack has wheels and a cushioned spot for a laptop. Even after all this time, it is my faithful traveling companion. Who knew it would be such a good investment?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

