Sweetest in the gale…

Photo: A Drauglis (Creative Commons Flickr)

Photo: A Drauglis (Creative Commons Flickr)

I’ve been thinking a lot about hope this past week. Our own Robin Helm faced a number of medical challenges, including a cancer scare that looked like a done deal. The only question was the extent. We prayed; God gave His answer. No cancer. Robin is in the clear. We are rejoicing in His grace.

Do join us in praying for her sister, Gayle Mills. She will begin cancer treatments soon. We are trusting in God’s grace to see her safely through.

Photo: nature80020

Photo: nature80020 (Creative Commoons Flickr)

For Thursday’s post I shared a poem about little boats sailing downstream. In looking it up, I encountered the one below about hope.

Ah, hope, both delicate and tenacious. It is seen in full strength during the worst of times.

Owls are my second-favorite animal, after cats–and so because Dickenson mentions feathers, I had to have owls. Even though owls don’t properly sing …

 

Photo: Ralph Daily (Creative Commons Flickr)

Photo: Ralph Daily (Creative Commons Flickr)

“Hope” is the thing with feathers
by Emily Dickinson

“Hope” is the thing with feathers –
That perches in the soul –
And sings the tune without the words –
And never stops – at all –

Photo: shankar s (Creative Commons Flickr)

Photo: shankar s (Creative Commons Flickr)

And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
And sore must be the storm –
That could abash the little Bird
That kept so many warm –

I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
And on the strangest Sea –
Yet – never – in Extremity,
It asked a crumb – of me.

Laura Hile (1)

3 thoughts on “Sweetest in the gale…

  1. Susan Kaye

    Facebook to the rescue. I saw a post the other day saying that all of ED’s work could be sung to the theme song of Gilligan’s Island. Holy cats, it true!

    I admit to having no class. And not really caring.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Robin Helm

    Thank you for reminding me of one of my favoritest poems. I love Emily Dickinson. She was a little strange, and I identify with that. The way she had of looking at common things with an uncommon mind speaks to me.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

