“And so it begins …”

keep-calm-and-vote-79985That’s a line from Tolkien’s “The Return of the King.” I think it covers a multitude of events that feel epic in scope.

Grocery shopping.

Your child getting married.

Voting for president of the United States in 2016.

If you haven’t voted yet, go do that. I haven’t because I live in a state with only vote-by-mail and I don’t like the idea of my ballot sitting around for days and days. I eliminate temptation by not giving “The Man” my ballot until the last minute.

No matter what, remember, we’re all in this together.

2 thoughts on ““And so it begins …”

  1. Laura Hile

    With you on the no-vote-early policy. This afternoon we will join the drive-through parade of cars on Murray Blvd., fellow citizens who come to drop off voting envelopes at the county sheriff’s office. Lots of cars. Kind of festive.

    Vote by mail is convenient, but I kind of miss the polling booth experience. So the drive-by drop off is the next best thing.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Susan Kaye Post author

    I would like the full-on paper ballot dropped in the box experience again. I’d even go so far as the purple thumb they used in the first Iraq election all those years ago.

    Like

    Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

