Traveling in my mind

booksI freely admit that I’m a science fiction geek. I love futuristic stories and fantasy. Series stories, such as The Hunger Games, Divergent, Twilight, and the Penryn and the End of Days books (which is not a Biblical depiction of angels), capture my imagination. I gobbled up the Lord of the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia. My mind lives in those worlds.

The only book I’ve ever read which truly surprised me with its ending is Ender’s Game. The series is fascinating, though I had to stop reading several books into it. Author Orson Scott Card got too strange, even for me. He introduced elements of witchcraft which made me uncomfortable.

My husband said Ender’s Game has bad language, but I confess I read so fast I didn’t notice it. However, he is very likely right, though I don’t remember it. He counts the swear words in movies, and we don’t watch any with the worst words. I suppose I just block it in my mind when I read.

Ender’s Game is a military science fiction novel. Because Card wrote it realistically, the book is violent and graphic. It’s not for the squeamish. What caught me was the brilliance of the concept. The space training facility was real to me. I forgot I was reading a book. I simply couldn’t put it down. The film version has been toned down and edited, but it is still good. Ender’s Shadow, a prequel about his friend Bean, was also excellent. These books get into the workings of the characters’ minds. Card excels in showing why they do the things they do.

If you love only romance, this book is NOT for you. There is NO romance in the series.

Ender and his companions are children. If children in danger upsets you, don’t read it.

In short, I am not recommending Ender’s Game to everyone.

Please keep in mind that I’m telling you about books which caught my imagination and spurred me on as a writer. I read all sorts of genres.  I know that many of you will not like what I like. Also be aware that I might read what I could never write and publish. I never have swearing, graphic violence, or any unBiblical precepts in my books.

2 thoughts on “Traveling in my mind

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

