Goals

Never Give Up

philippians-3-13-14

During these last days of 2016, I have been evaluating my progress towards my goals for the year.

I did lose forty pounds, and I’ve kept the weight off during the holidays. That’s a large check. Yay, me!

However, I wanted to publish two books, and I have yet to publish even one. Yes, I finished writing Understanding Elizabeth, but I’m in the editing process.

Just as the verses say, it’s time for me to forget what I have not achieved and focus on my goal: to publish the book. Dwelling on my failure will only bog me down and defeat me.

Instead, I need to look ahead. Eyes forward. A new year is coming.

I will pass that finish line soon. In fact, I already have an idea for the book that will follow Understanding Elizabeth.

As soon as I hit the publish button on KDP, I will start writing and posting Mr. Darcy’s Dog Tale on BeyondAusten.com.

Happy 2017 to all of you! What are your goals for the new year? If you have no target, you won’t hit it.

6 thoughts on “Goals

  1. Jennifer Redlarczyk

    Robin, I think you did great this year. 40 pounds is 160 sticks of butter. WOW! Plus you have been supporting your sister and the family as she goes through her chemo. Baby steps are good. Happy New Year to you and yours and many Blessings! Jen Red

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Thanks, Jen! 2016 was a tough year for our family. No doubt about it. Gayle will be receiving blood transfusions today. While she’s having a blood transfusion today, she will be rereading my edits for Understanding Elizabeth. How sweet is that? Thank you for commenting!

      Like

      Reply
  2. Laura Hile

    “… it’s time for me to forget what I have not achieved and focus on my goal.”

    Amen! For me 2016 has been a recovery-from-medical-setbacks year–although at the time I did not see it that way. I now realize that I’ve had my hands full just getting through my teaching day. Writing? Blogging? Not much emotional energy left for those.

    Okay, so I did publish Darcy By Any Other Name in May, but it took a long time to get there. 😀

    “If you have no target, you won’t hit it.”

    Exciting to hear about your new story, Robin. Your Understanding Elizabeth is such an enjoyable read. Good for you for moving ahead.

    Here are my goals for 2017.

    Publishing Marrying Well for Fun and Profit (Sir Walter’s outrageous advice column) as an e-book in January.

    Working on Turn of the Tide, a non-Austen Regency with Persuasion roots. It’s not quite ready for weekly Beyond Austen installments yet.

    I will be praying for Gayle (and for you–it’s almost harder to be the bystander) today.

    Eyes forward. A new year is coming.

    Well said.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      You have big goals, and I know you will attain them.

      Gayle is weak and sick from the radiation. She’s lost 50 pounds. Please pray for her.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Susan Kaye

    I think my goals this year will be praying for the people around me who are struggling. I figure that puts me in the correct posture as they used to say to pray for myself.

    At this point, my only real goal is to show up to THE CHAIR every morning. I’m even skipping word counts for the first month.

    Keep looking forward.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I think that’s excellent, Sue, in all points.

      I don’t generally keep up with my word counts either. I write what it takes to tell the story.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

