Snowed In

booksWhatever shall we do?

What can we do when we’re stuck at home in a winter storm (other than housecleaning – ugh!)? Read, of course!

I’ve told you about books I love that you probably wouldn’t guess I’d like. I’ve written about my childhood reads. Now – ta da! – here are some of my favorite teen reads:

A Tale of Two Cities

Les Miserables

The Count of Monte Cristo

Pride and Prejudice (right?)

Emma

Persuasion

Northanger Abbey

Adam Bede

Silas Marner

Fahrenheit 451

Animal Farm

Jane Eyre

Rebecca

All of Victoria Holt’s books

booksI’ll grant you that Dickens is an acquired taste, and Les Miserables, Adam Bede, and Silas Marner are downers, but it takes all sorts of vegetables to make a good stew.

Victoria Holt is not deep or hard to understand. Those books are clean, Gothic romance. So many governesses falling in love with the Lords of the Manor! Just the thing to stimulate a teen girl’s imagination without delving into dirt. Both my daughters read each of them.

All of these titles, with the exception of the Holt books, have been made into films, and Les Miserables is a Broadway hit. The musical scores for “Les Miserables” and “Phantom of the Opera” are brilliant and memorable.

So, if you don’t want to take down the Christmas tree yet, read one of these books or watch the movie adaptations.

Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “Snowed In

  1. Laura Hile

    I took down (disassembled) the Christmas tree only yesterday, in part because of reading. As a teen I read all the Victoria Holt books I could find. Other girls sighed over guys in our classes. I didn’t get that at all. See, I was waiting for the Lord of the Manor on horseback!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      I dated all the time, but I was still looking for the Lord of the Manor. Horses were optional. Larry rode a motorcycle. Does that count?

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

