What are you reading now?

I’ve posted about the books of my childhood, the books of my teen years, and the books which influenced me. Obviously, I love books!

You do, too, or you wouldn’t be reading this.

So tell me: What are you reading right now?

shatter-me-new-eye-co1a459

My daughter Melanie gave me a set of books for Mother’s Day last year, but real life was keeping me too busy to read anything not on my phone. I read while I wait in doctors’ offices or lines, and I don’t want to carry around paperbacks.

I saw them on a side table yesterday and decided that I’d like to know why these books had captivated her enough that she would spend the money to buy them (in paperback!) and mail them to me.

So far, I have to agree with her. They’re attention-grabbing time sinks. The writing style is different, but I like it. The characters are interesting – not just rewrites of Katniss and Peeta, Bella and Edward, or Tris and Four. Great covers, too!

shatter-me

It’s Dystopian Young Adult, so if that isn’t your “thing,” skip on by. Remember, I’m the reader who loved the Divergent series, The Hunger Games, and The Twilight Saga. Like those books, this is a series. She gave me the next two as well: Unravel Me and Ignite Me.

Stay tuned. I’ll let you know if these grab my attention and hold it or not. I’m not worried about whether or not there are erotic scenes, because my daughter would not read or recommend books that portray graphic sex. Romance? Yes, she would like that.

So, what are you reading now? We at Jane Started It want to know.

 

8 thoughts on “What are you reading now?

  1. Susan Kaye

    I read an article this morning on why Thomas Hardy might give Jane Austen a run for her money when it comes to reality writing. I liked The Mayor of Casterbridge so I might try Far from the Madding Crowd later this month. As for current reads, Freedom’s Light, an anthology of Libertarian writers, and Forbidden Thoughts, another anthology of SF shorts.

    And I’m not even a SciFi fan, just am in that trench right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Candy @ So little time...

    I have ‘Shatter Me’, but haven’t read it yet. I may have to pull it off the shelf and put in my read soon pile! Thanks for reminding me. Lol!

    I’m currently reading Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. I’m not very far into it yet. It’s the “Big Read” at the library this month. They are having an adult (which I missed) and teen book discussion on it. Then at the end of the month, they are showing the movie.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. Robin Helm Post author

      Funny story. When I was a classroom English teacher, I assigned Fahrenheit 451 to my junior class. I ordered the books and passed them out. I was amazed when parents complained about the language, so I pulled out my high school copy and reread it. Nary a bad word in sight. Then I got one of my student’s books. Full of bad words. Hmmm? I looked it up, and Fahrenheit 451 had been EDITED when I read it. It was censored. The original work came back out the year I assigned it. Oh, the irony! The book about censorship had been censored!

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
      1. Candy @ So little time...

        You’ve got to be kidding! Ha! That is irony! I really didn’t know much about the story before I started reading it. Bad on me, I never read the books I was supposed to read in high school. Although, I don’t think I was given this one. The only one I remember (but didn’t read) is ‘Lord of the Flies’. Now I wish I had. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

