Beneath the Surface

When it comes to tableware, I love the Blue Willow pattern:

graphic from replacements.com

But my affections can be shifted:

By Helsinki artist, Caroline Slotte

In [the] Tracing Series, I used a process of repeated masking and sandblasting to remove the glaze and the printed imagery step-by-step. When sandblasting the sand eats away on everything hard. Anything soft and flexible, such as the glue I use for masking, remains, the sand cannot penetrate it. I work my way down, layer by layer, rendering the motif three-dimensional, until the image is transformed into something resembling an imprint or an X-ray, as though a memory of the image had sunk into the plate.

Caroline Slotte

I think Austen writers do this with words.

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

