A Cinderella kind of day

My favorite fairy tale as a grownup is Beauty and the Beast.  But my favorite as a girl? Without question it is Cinderella. It’s a story that delivers on every level.

From Kenneth Branagh’s 2015 adaptation of Cinderella

As you know, I live with a bunch of men. Even though they pick up after themselves, I end up doing many “Cinderella” chores!

This morning,  in the middle of my work I abandoned a shirt on the ironing board, plunked down at the laptop, and … cruised Facebook, ha.

You know what happened next. Yeah, I was sucked in by one of those quizzes.

Why do we take those things? It’s not like they’re even accurate. Anyway, today’s was especially tempting: What Grimm Fairy Tale Character Are You? 

Am I a beautiful princess or a sneaky villain? Inquiring minds want to know the answer to that one!

According to the quiz, I am the most like … Cinderella.

You believe in two things: hard work and true love. You don’t complain, even when you know that you are taking on more than your fair share of the work. You don’t ask for anything, and yet, every once in a while, someone comes along and takes care of you. You know it is okay to stand up for yourself sometimes. You can say no when asked to do too much work. People will still respect you, and they might even be impressed to see you stand up for yourself!

This description makes me smile. Sure, I can *say* no to too much work — but that just means it will wait for me to do later!

Kind of like that shirt I left on the ironing board. What else was I to do? It was time to get my hair cut. This “Cinderella mom” went rogue!

My stylist does not have a magic wand, but my hair now looks cute instead of scruffy. And after my appointment, this movie found its way into my shopping cart. Something beautiful and good, a Mother’s Day gift to myself. It’s an adaptation I’ve long wanted to see.

You know, for the busy mom Mother’s Day is a Cinderella kind of day. We’re given gifts and appreciation from those we love and serve. Glass slippers and a ball, who needs those? Heck, it’s enough that for one day someone else does the cooking!

Fellow moms, I hope tomorrow is a lovely day for you. What Cinderella’s mother taught applies to each of us, I think. “Have courage and be kind.”

After dinner, our family is set to play games (we all like 7 Wonders). But you know what? I might make my men watch Cinderella with me instead.

Laura Hile (1)

6 thoughts on “A Cinderella kind of day

    1. Laura Hile

      I’ve been following the agitation over the Netflix adaptation Anne With an E (Anne of Green Gables), and I impulsively decided that I wanted to see something beautiful and happy and good. Cinderella fits the bill. Thanks for the recommendation, G.

      We war-weary teachers could use a dose of wonderful just now …

      Like

      Reply
  1. Robin Helm

    I took the quiz, and I’m Red Riding Hood. At first, I was very skeptical, but as I thought about it, it’s nearly perfect. I can see myself saying, “Grandma, what big ears you have! What a big nose you have! What big teeth you have!” That’s one of my problems. No filter. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. Laura Hile Post author

      You know, Robin, Little Red has a strength of focus that few recognize. She’s loyal. And she ignores danger and goes straight for her objective. She’s not shy about asking for directions, either. Creepy characters along the way don’t deter her! And she is cute enough to inspire the woodsman to help out. 😀

      Like

      Reply

Why yes, we DO want a piece of your mind. ;-)

